Governance Structure

Structure of the Governance of the School

The school is a Voluntary Aided school (under the auspices of the Rochester Diocesan Board of Education) and it was reconstituted in line with the Statutory Guidance, on 14th March 2019.

There are 18 Governors appointed:

a. 2 Elected Parents
b. 1 Nominated by the Local Authority (London Borough of Bromley)
c. 1 Elected member of Staff
d. The Headteacher
e. 3 Co-opted
f. 10 Foundation Governors, appointed:

  • i. 2 by the Lord Bishop of Rochester
  • ii. 4 by the Rochester Diocesan Board of Education
  • iii. 1 by the Chapter of Southwark Cathedral
  • iv. 2 by the St Olave’s & St Saviour’s Schools Foundation
  • v. 1 by the Dulwich Estate

The Governing Body has established a number of committees to which it delegates day to day responsibility for the oversight of various aspects of the running of the school:

Pastoral Committee

  • Updates on admissions;
  • Reviews proposals to amend the admissions policy;
  • Monitoring and oversight of staff and student well-being and safeguarding;
  • Ensuring that Pastoral care remains a top priority and is taken into account in all school activities.

The Chair is Ms S. Rose

Curriculum Committee

  • Ensures the school offers a broad and balanced curriculum in accordance with the National Curriculum
  • Reviews term dates and the length of the school day;
  • Receives reports of faculty reviews and monitors the Link Governor scheme;
  • Reviews school performance data and ensures lessons learnt are addressed;

The Chair is Mrs S. Chaudhary

Resources Committee

  • Provides strategic advice and guidance on staffing and personnel issues;
  • Reviews proposals for the promotion of staff;
  • Oversight of the management and maintenance of the school premises;
  • Reviews proposals for capital projects and ensures best practice in procurement and implementation of works;
  • Provides advice and guidance on premises maintenance issues;
  • Lead governor responsibility for Health & Safety and monitoring of associated statutory requirements (eg Fire safety, Legionella etc);
  • Initial oversight and management of the annual budget drawn up by the school;
  • Ensures the school maintains an appropriate system of internal financial control;
  • Agrees priorities for revenue and capital funding.

The Chair is Councillor R. Evans

A number of further committees are established as and when required, including Pupil and Staff Discipline and Appeals.